Prime Minister's Fellowship Scheme for Doctoral Research

About PMRF

The Prime Minister's Research Fellows (PMRF) Scheme has been designed for improving the quality of research in higher educational institutions in the country. With attractive fellowships, the scheme seeks to attract the best talent into research thereby realizing the vision of development through innovation. The scheme was announced in the Union Budget of 2018-19. The institutes that can offer PMRF include all the IITs, all the IISERs, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru and some of the top Central Universities/NITs that offer science and/or technology degrees. The candidates, under the scheme, will be selected through a rigorous selection process and their performance will be reviewed suitably through a national convention. Starting Academic Year 2020-21, candidates can apply for PMRF through either of the following two channels:

DIRECT ENTRY CHANNEL

To apply for PMRF through this channel, the candidates must satisfy all of the following criteria:

- (1) In the preceding three years, the candidate should have either:
 - (i) completed or be pursuing the final year of Bachelor's or Master's degree in Science and Technology streams from any Institute/University recognized in India with a CGPA of 8.0 or above and a GATE score of 650 or above in the relevant subject (the GATE criterion is waived if the qualifying degree is from one of the IISc/IITs/NITs/IISERSs/IIEST and centrally funded IIITs), or,
 - (ii) qualified GATE and completed or pursuing M.Tech./MS by research at one of the PMRF Granting Institutes with a minimum CGPA of 8.0 at the end of the first semester with a minimum of four courses.
- (2) The candidates apply and get selected in the Ph.D. programme in one of the PMRF granting institutes.
- (3) The PMRF granting institute, which has admitted the student in the Ph.D. programme through the regular selection process (interview), makes a strong recommendation for award of PMRF in view of his/her merit. The metrics on which the candidates will be judged should include (but not be restricted to): research exposure, publications, performance in international academic competitions, grades and recommendation letters.

To apply through Direct Entry Channel, please click on the link https://www.primeministerfellowshipscheme.in/.

LATERAL ENTRY CHANNEL

To apply for PMRF through this channel, the candidate must satisfy all of the following criteria:

- (1) The candidate should be pursuing Ph.D. in one of the PMRF granting institutions. Further, he/she should have completed 12 months in the PhD programme if he/she joined the programme with a Master's degree; and should have completed at most 24 months in the PhD programme if he/she joined the PhD programme with a Bachelor's degree. He/she should have completed at least four courses in the PhD programme with a CGPA / CPI of 8.5 or above.
- (2) The PMRF Granting Institute, in which the student is enrolled, makes a strong recommendation for the candidate and uploads the relevant information on the PMRF webportal, in view of his/her merit clearly demonstrated during the first 12-24 months (as relevant) of the program;
- (3) The metrics on which the candidates will be judged include (but not restricted to) a strong research proposal, publications' record and grades. Due weightage should be given to publication in reputed journals/conferences.

To apply through Lateral Entry Channel, the candidates may contact the DPGC Conveners of the concerned Discipline.

PMRF Granting Institutes

- (1). Aligarh Muslim University
- (2). Banaras Hindu University
- (3). IISc Bangalore
- (4). IISER Berhampur
- (5). IISER Bhopal
- (6). IISER Kolkata
- (7). IISER Mohali
- (8). IISER Pune
- (9). IISER Thiruvananthapuram
- (10). IISER Tirupati
- (11). IIT Bhilai
- (12). IIT BHU
- (13). IIT Bhubaneswar
- (14). IIT Bombay
- (15). IIT Delhi
- (16). IIT Dharwad
- (17). IIT(ISM) Dhanbad
- (18). IIT Gandhinagar
- (19). IIT Goa
- (20). IIT Guwahati
- (21). IIT Hyderabad
- (22). IIT Indore
- (23). IIT Jodhpur
- (24). IIT Kanpur
- (25). IIT Kharagpur
- (26). IIT Madras
- (27). IIT Mandi
- (28). IIT Patna
- (29). IIT Roorkee
- (30). IIT Ropar
- (31). IIT Jammu
- (32). IIT Palakkad
- (33). IIT Tirupati
- (34). Jamia Millia Islamia
- (35). Jawaharlal Nehru University
- (36). National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli
- (37). University of Delhi
- (38). University of Hyderabad